MORE MATERIAL
Rosy Lamb
Menu
EN | FR
EN | FR

The Plate Throwers, 2017

[front view with doors closed], 2017, bronze with tarnished silver leaf, H 97 L 146 W 46 cm, unique
photo © Steve Murez

The Plate Throwers, un buffet qui, de l'extérieur, expose les traces presque dorées de grands gestes, l'intérieur dissimulant le portrait de l'éternelle dispute au sujet de qui doit faire la vaisselle.

Oceans of Notions, 2017

6 piece modular coffee table, bronze, H 40-50 L 150 W 138 cm, unique.

Oceans of Notions, une table basse ondulante et modulable, faite de panneaux uniques, possède des surfaces couvertes d'une langage inconnu, fait d'éclaboussures et de remous.

Return to Form, 2017

sand etched mirror, brass, bronze, and tarnished white gold leaf, H 97 L 110 W 12 cm, limited edition of 8+4 AP

Return to Form, un miroir dont la buée semble avoir été essuyée après la douche et ceint d'un cadre doré, délabré et comme animé, nous renvoie notre reflet à travers le temps.

Parchemins, 2017

side table, bronze, H 48 L 60 w 58, unique

Parchemins, une table de chevet aux bords irréguliers, apparaît comme le fantôme d'une simple table de bois, son plateau reposant à peine sur quatre pieds roulés.

Les Lumières, 2017

table lamps, vapour patinated bronze
hommage #1 (blocks) H 80 W 21 D 16 cm, unique
hommage #2 (tree), H 95 W 21.5 D 20 cm, unique
hommage #3 (cone), H 70 W 26.5 D 15 cm, unique
hommage #4 (loops), H 26 W 28 D 19 cm, unique

Les Lumières, sont quatre lampes uniques qui éclairent des hommes de l'intérieur, moquant notre préférence culturelle pour les lumières masculines.

Armour, 2017

bronze, H 175 W 42 D 36 cm, unique

Fred, 2017

edition of 4 Artist Proof with unique base, H 95 W 38 D 30 cm, 2016
photo © Steve Murez

Borne, 2018

vapour patinated bronze, H 30.5 W 8 D 8 cm, unique

New You, 2018

vapour patinated bronze, H 30.5 W 8 D 8 cm, unique

Smoulder, 2018

bronze, H 24.5 W 19 D 20.53 cm, unique

Seaside Sculptor, 2018

bronze, H 29.5 W 25.5 H 31.5 cm, unique

Spring is in the Air, 2018

bronze, H 14 W 12 H 25 cm, unique

Sara Chambard
Attachée de presse
sara.chambard@gmail.com
+33 7 70 90 67 41

Guido Romero Pierini
Commissaire d'exposition
guidoromeropierini@gmail.com
+33 6 89 08 91 66

Rosy Lamb
Artist
rosy@rosylamb.com

More Material

Ellen McBreen
Curatrice et professeur d'histoire de l'art.
Wheaton College, Massachusetts, USA.
(Texte traduit de l’anglais)

Sur la pièce Parchemins (2017), le fin dessus de table, dont la surface tendue évoque la texture des bandages hospitaliers, accroche ses coins à de minces renforts, comme des béquilles servant d’appui. Cette impression de précarité nous égare cependant, car l’objet en question, est fait en robuste bronze moulé. C’est là le premier signe d’un jeu tacitement conceptuel dans le travail de Rosy Lamb qui pourrait, de prime abord, sembler porté presque exclusivement par une démarche de création de beaux objets.

Parchemins, table d’appoint, bronze, 48x60x58 cm, pièce unique, 2017

Cette démarche, après tout, est ce qui frappe initialement dans chaque détail et riche surface des sculptures fonctionnelles de More Material. Prenez, par exemple, Oceans of Notions. La conception irrégulière de ses panneaux flottants promène l’œil d’un côté et de l’autre sur ses ruisseaux sinueux, offrant une unité là où en réalité se dressent douze sculptures aux reliefs uniques et aux hauteurs diverses. Bien que ces créations soient emprisonnées de manière pérenne dans le bronze, elles transmettent l’énergie inquiète des tourbillons dans l’eau. Chacun des vingt-deux panneaux verticaux provient d’un modèle unique, aux formes rondes et légèrement picturales, qui révèle en quelque sorte le positif du négatif des sillons des surfaces horizontales. Tout le travail de Rosy Lamb vise à préserver la fraîcheur et la spontanéité de sa propre méthode de création, opposant un démenti à l’extrême et intensif labeur de cette réalisation. Pour exemple, les panneaux de côtés verticaux ont été faits en brossant et construisant directement avec de la cire chaude tandis que les panneaux du dessus ont été teints à la main avec du pigment pur, puis recouverts de cire et patinés afin de les protéger de l’oxydation.

Oceans of Notions, 6 tables basses modulables, bronze, 40-50x150x138 cm, pièce unique, 2017

Rosy Lamb a apporté la patience d’un peintre et la prouesse technique d’un sculpteur figuratif à More Material. Les objets qui y sont présentés canalisent de longues années d’expérimentation en travaillant tour à tour les deux disciplines dans son atelier: peindre comme un sculpteur et sculpter comme un peintre. [Lorsque j'ai écrit mon livre sur la sculpture de Matisse, Rosy Lamb a été pour moi la source d’information la mieux renseignée quant aux processus de moulage. Elle est profondément ancrée dans l’artisanat et dans la fabrication]. Son adoption récente de la peinture sur de la cire chaude lui a permis de rendre les surfaces de ses sculptures de bronze encore plus expressives. Cette innovation constitue l’origine des processus utilisés pour More Material.

Une constante dans cette collection est le fait que tous les objets sont fondamentalement enracinés dans les réalités physiques. Rosy Lamb a exploré sans relâche la manière dont les matériaux réagissent et répondent au cours de multiples processus. Durant ces deux dernières années, la fonderie en Auvergne a été son laboratoire. Elle a collaboré avec d’autres artisans dans les ateliers, les entrainant à bousculer les techniques traditionnelles de fonderie en les confrontant à de nouvelles expériences et idées. Elle a réalisé de la patine extensive et des essais couleur sur des échantillons en cire des motifs présents dans sa collection. Ses recherches sur les matériaux frôlent l'obsessionnel mais c’est le lieu où son imagination peut déployer toute sa richesse.

Oceans of Notions (détail), bronze patiné, 2017

Les aspects techniques, aussi bien que les exigences physiques, de la sculpture et de la fabrication de meubles semblent résolument "macho". Les imposantes œuvres de More Material transmettent un peu de cette bravade; elles ne décoreront pas poliment une chambre, elles l’inspireront. Oceans of Notions, en particulier, avec ses pièces faites-main, délicieusement irrégulières, ressemblent à une vision idiosyncratique des sculptures composées de carrés du coriace et laconique célèbre américain minimaliste Carl André. Après tout, le travail de fonderie a souvent été celui de virils artistes. Mais les œuvres en elles-mêmes, destinées à l'intérieur de la maison, traitent aussi fondamentalement du travail domestique, moins visible, des femmes, qui disposent généralement l'apéritif sur la table et en essuient les déversements accidentels (Rosy Lamb a spécifiquement pensé à fabriquer sa table-sculpture de manière à ce que sa surface soit aisément lavable). Qui rangera la vaisselle dans le buffet The Plate Throwers une fois les invités partis? The Plate Throwers, tout particulièrement, révèle un jeu de genre, également actif dans d’autres pièces de la collection. Derrière ses luisantes portes dorées, nous est révélée une obscure lutte domestique des sexes. Une agile figure féminine est sur le point de lancer une assiette à son vis-à-vis masculin qui, pris de court, marche avec une pile d’assiettes consciencieusement dressée sur sa tête. Même dans les maisons les mieux tenues, le chaos total est à deux pas.

The Plate Throwers Cupboard (de face et de dos), console, bronze et feuille d’argent oxydée, 97x146x46 cm, pièce unique, 2017

Dans Les Lumières, quatre hommes nus se présentent (ce qui constitue traditionnellement un sujet d’héroïsme masculin) humbles et apprivoisés, étant chargés de la tâche domestique d’apporter la lumière. Dans cette série, Rosy Lamb combine son don pour rendre ses nus vivants et animés avec son esprit inventif. Les jambes et les torses des quatre figures expressives se joignent aux sculptures abstraites filtrant la lumière, ce qui entraine l’effacement de leurs identités individuelles. Une tête est pulvérisée contre la toile de matière abstraite, émergeant de son torse. Le titre Les Lumières (en anglais The Luminaries) semble être suffisamment explicite. Il s’agit après tout de lampes fonctionnelles, dans la tradition des torchères figuratives. [Mais le nom évoque, aussi en anglais, une personne remarquable, experte dans son domaine de compétence. Ainsi, "Dr. Robertson is a luminary in the medical profession, and so the surgical procedure is named after him”.] Bien entendu, le mot est plus souvent utilisé pour décrire un homme.

Les Lumières (in situ), lampes, bronze patiné a la vapeur, 2017

Dans l’histoire de l’art, la sculpture figurative commémorative a été consacrée de manière écrasante aux réussites masculines. Tradition bien connue de Rosy Lamb, puisqu’elle a travaillé dans le domaine des monuments publics durant deux années lors de son arrivée à Paris. Sa modeste série Les Lumieres, hommages, rappellent la tradition grandiose des hommes illustres (Famous Men), telles les 86 sculptures debout qui décorent la balustrade du premier étage dans la cour Napoléon du Louvre. Ils baissent les yeux devant la pyramide, tandis que peu de visiteurs lèvent les yeux vers eux. Canonisés au XIXème siècle par Hector-Martin Lefuel, l’architecte qui les commanda, beaucoup d’entre eux (Etienne Duperac, Jean Bullant, ...) sont oubliés de nos jours. Ils furent certainement des lumières en leur époque. Combien plus appréciés seraient-ils aujourd’hui s’ils irradiaient de la lumière ?

En tant que peintre et sculpteur, je recherche des formes ouvertes et fermées, ordonnées et désordonnées et dans la maîtrise tout autant que dans les matériaux bruts, pour révéler la poussée et la traction entre privé et public, épique et éphémère..

Je travaille souvent le plâtre sculpté, qui semble naturellement altéré par le temps. Il est plus difficile d'atteindre cette esthétique avec les sculptures traditionnelles en bronze. J'ai néanmoins développé dernièrement une technique de peinture sur cire chaude qui me permet de réaliser des surfaces expressives et délicates en bronze, qui équilibrent la force du métal par l'apparente fragilité des motifs.

Surface details, The Plate Throwers (2017)

Ces surfaces uniques sont la base d'une nouvelle série de meubles-sculptures, intitulée More Material, sur laquelle j'ai travaillé durant les deux dernières années à la fonderie Fusions, en Auvergne.

Pour réaliser les pièces de More Material, la fonderie a été à la fois mon atelier et mon laboratoire. David de Gourcuff, son propriétaire, a investi dans mon projet, m'a accueillie, et m'a donné un accès libre et sans précédent pour travailler et expérimenter dans l'effervescence de sa fonderie. Créer ces pièces a impliqué des collaborations avec les ateliers de la fonderie, et plusieurs travailleurs là-bas m'ont aidée à certaines étapes plus ou moins critiques. Cette collection n'aurait pas pu être réalisée sans eux.

Rosy Lamb, photo by Steve Murez

Je suis née dans une famille d'artiste vivant dans les forêts du New Hampshire. Mes frères et sœurs et moi étions scolarisés à la maison, ce qui consistait essentiellement dans le fait de nous laisser suivre notre inclination et nos propres projets. À dix-sept ans, je suis entrée à la Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts à Philadelphie où j'ai étudié la peinture et la sculpture. Puis je me suis installée à Paris où j'ai assisté le sculpteur Jean Cardot dans son travail sur les monuments publics durant deux ans, avant d'investir mon propre atelier pour y travailler la peinture, la sculpture et dorénavant pour créer des meubles.

Francis and Alex, plâtre et bronze, 1998.
J'ai réalisé ces deux sculptures d'amis artistes qui ont posé pour moi dans mon atelier de Philadelphie où, y compris en tant qu'étudiante en art, j'ai passé le plus clair de mon temps.

   

Portraits Intimes

Depuis l'enfance, me retrancher dans mon monde est la position dans laquelle il me devient possible de faire des choses. Seule dans mon studio, la vulnérabilité qui vient avec l’état d'ouverture devient une force patiemment entretenue, et l'espace même que la poussière prend entre les choses est autant que je peux voir, sentir et utiliser comme source d'inspiration que les objets, sculptures et modèles vivants.

Pour moi, le modèle n'est pas seulement un moyen de peindre ou de sculpter mais une voie vivante et vibrante vers l’inconnu. Les images que je fais sont des broderies libres des moments passés face aux modèles, elles allient les moments observés avec une façon plus intérieure de voir et de ressentir.

Jasmine in the Braemare house, huile sur plâtre, 2008
Ma sœur Jasmine a été le modèle de nombre de mes peintures entre 2006 et 2008. Durant ces années, elles souffrait de problèmes de santé et poser était le seul travail qu'elle pouvait envisager. Son tranquille état intérieur transparaît dans les représentations que j'ai faites d'elle durant ces années.

Put the dog and the cat in the Poster (George and Sylvia Whitman dans la librairie Shakespeare and Company, à Paris), huile sur toile, 2011.
Cette peinture appartient à une série de portraits de familles posant chez elles. Elle a été exposée à la BP Portrait Exhibition à la National Portrait Gallery de Londres en 2012.

Plâtre et Matériaux Hybrides

Au fil des années, je me suis tournée vers la peinture sur plâtre. Cela m'a permis d'associer des éléments sculptés et des ombres dans mes tableaux. Sur certaines pièces, l’utilisation du plâtre permet d’ajouter du relief à ma peinture en cassant, sculptant et grattant des pans de l’image.

Âmes de plâtres et instants inachevée, exhibition poster, photo by Benjamin Pierce.

Cire Chaude et More Material

En 2014, j'ai développé une technique de peinture sur cire chaude afin de rendre expressives les surfaces en métal en faisant une petite série de sculptures. Ma sculpture Armour est un exemple de cette technique de cire directe.

Armour, bronze, 2016

Au début de l'année 2016, j'ai travaillé ces nouvelles techniques dans une série de meubles-sculptures uniques et dans les motifs sculptés et peints dans le bronze qui reflètent la vie intime et familiale. J'ai intitulé cette nouvelle série de sculptures More Material car dans la plupart le matériau rivalise avec la présence visuelle et conceptuelle.

Oceans of Notions, modular coffee table, unique, bronze, 2017

MORE MATERIAL
Rosy Lamb
Menu
EN | FR
EN | FR

The Plate Throwers, 2017

[front view with doors closed], 2017, bronze with tarnished silver leaf, H 97 L 146 W 46 cm, unique
photo © Steve Murez

The Plate Throwers, a dish cupboard that looks like a gestural golden painting on the outside, on the inside hides a sculptural portrayal of the endless fight we all have as to who will do the dishes next.

Oceans of Notions, 2017

6 piece modular coffee table, bronze, H 40-50 L 150 W 138 cm, unique.

Oceans of Notions, an undulating modular coffee table made with one-of-a-kind open panels, has surfaces inscribed in an unknown language of swishes and swirls.

Return to Form, 2017

sand etched mirror, brass, bronze, and tarnished white gold leaf, H 97 L 110 W 12 cm, limited edition of 8+4 AP

In Return to Form, a mirror that looks like the steam has been wiped away after a hot shower is framed by an ornate, decaying, almost animate golden frame that reflects on our reflection through time.

Parchemins, 2017

side table, bronze, H 48 L 60 w 58, unique

Parchemins, a side-table with thin ragged edges, is the ghostly image of a simple wooden table, the top precariously balanced on scroll like legs.

Les Lumières, 2017

table lamps, vapour patinated bronze
hommage #1 (blocks) H 80 W 21 D 16 cm, unique
hommage #2 (tree), H 95 W 21.5 D 20 cm, unique
hommage #3 (cone), H 70 W 26.5 D 15 cm, unique
hommage #4 (loops), H 26 W 28 D 19 cm, unique

Les Lumieres are four unique lamps that illuminate men from within, mocking our cultural preference for male luminaries.

Armour, 2017

bronze, H 175 W 42 D 36 cm, unique

Fred, 2017

edition of 4 Artist Proof with unique base, H 95 W 38 D 30 cm
photo © Steve Murez

Borne, 2018

vapour patinated bronze, H 30.5 W 8 D 8 cm, unique

New You, 2018

vapour patinated bronze, H 30.5 W 8 D 8 cm, unique

Smoulder, 2018

bronze, H 24.5 W 19 D 20.53 cm, unique

Seaside Sculptor, 2018

bronze, H 29.5 W 25.5 H 31.5 cm, unique

Spring is in the Air, 2018

bronze, H 14 W 12 H 25 cm, unique

Rosy Lamb
Artist
rosy@rosylamb.com

More Material

Ellen McBreen
Curator and Associate Professor in Art History.
Wheaton College, Massachusetts, USA.

In Parchemins (2017) a paper-thin tabletop, its stretched surface evoking the texture of hospital bandages, clings at its corners to lean supports like crutches propping it up. An impression of frail precariousness misleads us, however, since the object in question is rugged cast bronze. It is the first sign of a quiet conceptual play in Rosy Lamb’s work, which, on the surface of things, can seem almost exclusively about the process of making beautiful objects.

Parchemins, side table, bronze, H 48 L 60 w 58, unique, 2017

Process, after all, is what strikes you initially in every detail and richly layered surface of the functional sculptures of More Material . Take Oceans of Notions, for example. The irregular design of its floating panels draws your eye back and forth over its meandering rivulets, providing unity for what in reality is 12 different, unique relief sculptures of various heights. Although these designs are trapped in bronze permanently, they convey the restless energy of swirling eddies in water. The 22 side panels each have a unique pattern of rapidly painterly rounded forms that read as the positive of the negative trenches above. All of Lamb’s work manages to retain the freshness and spontaneity of its method of creation, which belies the extreme, labor intensive aspects of its making. These side panels, for example, were made by brushing and building directly with hot wax, while the surface panels were hand-tinted with pure pigment, and then covered with wax and patina to protect it from oxidizing.

Oceans of Notions, 6 piece modular coffee table (detail of two modules), bronze, H 40-50 L 150 W 138 cm, unique, 2017

Lamb brought the patience of a painter and the technical prowess of a figural sculptor to More Material. Its objects channel her long years of experimentation working back and forth between media in her studio: painting as a sculptor, and sculpting as a painter. [When I wrote a book about Matisse’s sculpture, Lamb was the most knowledgeable source of information about casting processes. She is thoroughly entrenched in craft and workmanship]. Her recent adoption of painting in hot wax allowed her to make the surfaces of her bronze sculptures even more expressive; this breakthrough lies at the origin of the processes used for More Material.

One constant in the series is that that all of the objects are fundamentally rooted to physical realities, as Lamb tirelessly explored how materials react and respond to various processes. Over the last two years, the foundry in Auvergne was her laboratory. She collaborated with other craftspeople in the ateliers, pushing them to overturn traditional foundry techniques with new experiments and ideas. She made extensive patina and color tests on the motifs found in this collection. Her research into materials is almost obsessional, but it’s where her rich imagination finds a place to play.

Oceans of Notions (surface detail), pigmented paint and cold patina on bronze, 2017

Both the technical, and demandingly physical aspects of sculpture and furniture making are decidedly macho. The imposing pieces in More Material convey some of this bravado; they will not politely decorate a room so much as command it. Oceans of Notions, in particular, with its delightfully irregular hand-made units seems like an idiosyncratic take on the grid format sculptures of the famously tough, laconic American minimalist Carl André. Working in the foundry, after all, has mostly been the work of red-blooded male artists. But the pieces themselves designed for the home are also fundamentally about the less visible work of women. Who normally sets out the aperitifs on a coffee table, or wipes up its spills (Lamb specifically thought of making that an easily washable surface)? Who will put the dishes away into the cabinet of The Plate Throwers after the guests have gone? The Plate Throwers , in particular, reveals a gender game at play in other pieces in the series. Behind its shiny gilded doors, a darker domestic battle of the sexes is revealed. An agile female figure is on the verge of launching a plate at her male counterpart, who marches unawares, a pile of plates dutifully poised on his head. Even in the best- run homes, after all, total chaos is just minutes away.

The Plate Throwers Cupboard [front and back views], bronze with tarnished silver leaf, H 97 L 146 W 46 cm, unique, 2017

In Les Lumières, four other male nudes, traditionally a subject for masculine heroism, are humbled and domesticated, given the household job of providing light. In this series, Lamb’s combines her gift for breathing life into her nudes with her inventive wit. The legs and torsos of four expressive figures are joined to light-filtering abstract sculptures, so that their individual identities are erased. One head is pulverized into the web of abstract matter emerging from his torso. The title Les Lumières ( The Luminaries in English) seems straightforward enough; they are, after all, functional light units in the tradition of figural torchieres. But the word also evokes luminary: a person of prominence, or master in their respective field. As in “Dr. Robertson is a luminary in the medical profession, and so the surgical procedure is named after him.” It’s a word, of course, more frequently used to describe men.

o

Les Lumières (in situ), table lamps, vapor patinated bronze, 2017

In the history of art, commemorative figural sculpture has been overwhelming devoted to male achievements. This is a tradition Lamb knows well, having worked on public monuments for two years when she first came to Paris. Her modest series of Les Lumieres, hommages recalls the grandiose tradition of les hommes illustres (Famous Men), like the 86 standing sculptures decorating the first floor balustrade of the Louvre’s Cour Napoléon. They look down at the modern glass pyramid, while very few visitors look up at them. Canonized in the 19th-century by Hector-Martin Lefuel, the architect who ordered them, many of these men are now forgotten (Etienne Duperac? Jean Bullant?). Certainly, they were luminaries for their age. How much more appreciated would they be now if they too could radiate light?

As a painter and sculptor, I seek forms that are open and closed, ordered and disordered in equal measure and in which opulent workmanship competes with untouched raw materials to reveal the push and pull between the public and private, the epic and the transient. I often work with sculpted plaster that looks as if it has naturally aged and crumbled over time. It is more difficult to evoke this aesthetic with traditional bronze sculptures, but recently, I developed a technique of painting in hot wax that allows me to make expressive and delicate bronze surfaces that balance the strength of metal with the visual fragility of painted brush strokes.

The Plate Throwers (surface details), 2017

These unique surfaces and motifs are the foundation for my new series of functional sculptures, called More Material, on which I have been working for the the past two years at La Fonderie Fusions in Auvergne, France.

To make More Material, the foundry has been my studio and my laboratory. David de Gourcuff, the owner of the foundry, invested in my work, put me up in his home, and gave me unprecedented access and free rein to work and play in the midst of his busy foundry. Making these pieces involved collaborations with every atelier of the foundry, and every worker there helped me at some critical juncture or other. This collection would not have been possible otherwise.

Rosy Lamb, photo by Steve Murez

I was born to a family of artists living in the woods of New Hampshire. My siblings and I were homeschooled, that is, we were mostly left to pursue our own projects. At seventeen, I went to the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts where I formally studied painting and sculpture. I then moved to Paris, where I assisted the sculptor Jean Cardot on his public monuments for two years, before moving to my own studio to work on painting, sculpture, and now, furniture.

Francis and Alex, plaster and bronze, 1998.
I made these two sculptures of two artist friends who modeled for me in my home studio in Philadelphia, where, even as an art school student, I spent most of my time.

   

Intimate Portraits

Since childhood, retreating into my private world has been the generative stance in which it is possible for me to make things. Alone in my studio, the vulnerability that comes with openness can be a cultivated strength, and the space that the dust takes up in between the things in the room is as much part of what I can see and feel and use as inspiration as the things, sculptures, and living models that surround me.

To me, the model is not just a means to making a painting or sculpture but a walking, breathing conduit for the unknown. The images I make with models are fractured embroideries of time; they mix observed moments with a more inward form of seeing and feeling.

Jasmine in the Braemare house, oil on plaster, 2008
My sister Jasmine was my model for many paintings between 2006-2008. During these years she was having health problems and modeling was the only job she felt up to. Her quiet inward state inscribed itself into the images I made of her during those years.

Put the dog and the cat in the Poster (George and Sylvia Whitman in the bookstore Shakespeare and Company, Paris), oil on linen, 2011.
This painting from a small series of portraits I made of families posing in their homes was exhibited at the BP Portrait exhibition, National Portrait Gallery, London in 2012

Plaster + Hybrids

Over time I increasingly turned toward making paintings on plaster in which I experimented with admixing sculptural elements and shadow into the pieces. In some instances my hybrid plaster paintings look no different from paintings on other supports, except for their slightly irregular shapes or the texture on their cast plaster surfaces. In other works, using plaster supports allows me to integrate high and low relief into my painting by breaking, sculpting, scratching away and incising portions of the surface image.

Ames de plates et instants inachevée, exhibition poster. Photo by Benjamin Pierce, 2006.

Hot Wax and More Material

In 2014 I developed a technique of painting in hot wax in order to make expressive metal surfaces while making a small series of new sculptures. My sculpture Armour is an example of this new direct wax technique.

Armour, bronze, 2016

At the beginning of 2016 I began developing these new techniques into a series of unique furniture pieces and painterly architectural motifs in bronze that embody my lifelong interest in making art that reflects on the private experience of home and family life. I am calling this new series of domestic sculptures More Material as these are works in which the material weight and bulk compete with their visual and conceptual presence.

Oceans of Notions, modular coffee table, unique, bronze, 2017